Bootcamp Experience

Bootcamp Experience

ยท

3 min read

Hey y'all, Monday ain't a bad day for someone to write an article. I used to dread Mondays and bet everyone at some point does but what if you just sit down and do a reflection on your tech journey or something exciting, maybe progress you made for the past week. Well, everyone has a story, depends on how well you tell it and your audience.

So I had the chance to join SkaeHub Bootcamp in the month of April. The first week was on-site, just getting to know my teammates, and the 2nd week was meant to be remotely just to know how well we can collaborate among ourselves. The first week was all about intro to the python programming language and we were given daily assignments to tackle. Slack was our main form of communication and we formed groups among ourselves and did discussions too. We were also introduced to Git and Github. The first week covered function unit testing, OOP principles, and concepts like polymorphism, encapsulation, inheritance, etc. In our various groups, we were able to implement it using real-world examples. The first week was a marathon and I had to catch up and get to ask questions from my instructors Lewis and Zawadi since I was behind and I was just finishing my exams but managed to do the daily tasks and learn from other team members.

So the week ended with the provision of the company's co-values which are vision, mission, and values which include; Passion, Integrity, Teamwork, and Innovation. Also, we were given a number of projects from which an individual was to pick one and be ready to do a presentation at the end of the Bootcamp. My choice was News Site web Scraping using Beautiful Soup Library which by the way, I'll be doing a presentation on this week.

The second week was all about teamwork, collaboration, and communication. The tasks that were assigned to us were based on giving a sound understanding of databases. How to design and implement one using SQL. Agile Methodology was also a topic we were supposed to discuss among our various groups and try to understand the concepts used within the agile methodology. We were able to make use of the scrum framework to run small projects. About the HTTP and Web Services task, this was my favorite of them all. I'm not saying the rest are boring, it's just that I found the task really exciting. Getting to know the HTTP Request-Response life cycle, the status codes, and their meanings. HTTP verbs and their use cases also just getting to understand the Client-server architecture. The best part was being able to interact with APIs, something we use daily like google maps, and Twitter API.

I have really learned a lot from Bootcamp in a short time. It's the best choice I ever made. Let's catch up on my next article,,,,,๐Ÿ˜€

ย